Hawaii State Flag

A flag is often an amalgam of anecdotes that tell the history of a state.

You will find below the description and explanation for the symbols of the flag of Hawaii.

The flag of Hawaii was adopted on 29 December 1845. It is composed of eight horizontal stripes white, red and blue, that represent the eight main islands of the archipelago: Hawaii, Maui, Lanai, Oahu, Kauai, Molokai, Niihau, Kahoolawe. Union Jack (flag of the UK) is designed in the canton , which represents the British rule in the archipelago on the early nineteenth century. The Union Jack alone, or briefly the American flag (which then had only 44 stars) floated on Hawaii at the discretion of invasions. The archipelago has several features compared to other states. Firstly, it is the smaller in size. Then it's the last one, in 1960, to have joined the United States. Finally, as Alaska, it is geographically separated from the territory. Hawaii joined the United States on 4 July 1960. Hawaii is known as the "Aloha State", and its capital is Honolulu.

On this website, you can download the Hawaiian flag in different sizes.

All Hawaii's flags are available in 4 different resolutions to best suit your purposes (S, M, L, XL). Click on the flag to access the download page.

Custom designs for the Hawaii's flag