Arizona State Flag

A flag is often an amalgam of anecdotes that tell the history of a state.

You will find below the description and explanation for the symbols of the flag of Arizona.

The flag of Arizona was adopted on 17 February 1917. It consists of thirteen red and yellow rays in the upper band, blue band in the bottom, and a copper star in the center. While this star symbolizes the mineral wealth, including copper, the lower blue strip is a distant evocation of freedom, even if all in heraldry specialists do not agree on this point. The upper part directly refers to the thirteen provinces that formed Arizona before it became a federal state, and the colors of the flag of the Spanish colonist. The name Arizona also come from the Spanish "zona arida", which also recalls that the State is part of the Sun Belt. This flag was created by Colonel Harris, who headed the National Guard, that was the only one not to have a banner at shooting competitions (1910). Arizona has joined the United States on 4 July 1912. Arizona is known as the "Grand Canyon State" and its capital is Phoenix.

On this website, you can download the Arizonan flag in different sizes.

All Arizona's flags are available in 4 different resolutions to best suit your purposes (S, M, L, XL). Click on the flag to access the download page.

Custom designs for the Arizona's flag