A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Spain Flag

The explanation for the symbols of the Spanish Flag

The flag of Spain was adopted in 1981. The Spanish Constitution of 1978 describes it as consisting of three horizontal stripes (red - yellow - red), with the national emblem on the yellow stripe, shifted to the shaft. It is also stated that the yellow band is twice as wide as each red arround. These colours are very present on the Spanish flags and coats of arms, it is already the case of the two main provinces of Spain at this time, Castile and Aragon. In the eighteenth century, all provinces under the authority of the Bourbons had to use the white flag, which was their colour, also symbol of their large territory. Sometimes, however, some of those provinces had to fight on the seas or on land. These battles became very difficult to carry out, as all parties were wearing the same white flag. Then Charles III of Bourbon issued a decree in 1785 that gave birth to the Spanish flag. Arms of Spain are composed of a shield divided into six parts, with on its right,a column surmounted by the royal crown, and on the left the same surmounted by the imperial crown. the shield is topped himself of the Spanish crown. The six parts of the shield represent the Spanish provinces: Castile, Leon, Aragon, Navarre, Granada, and the House of Bourbon-Anjou, who ruled the country since 1700.

National Spanish Flag

You can download it in different sizes, in a decidedly modern design for your personal use, or for wider use. Spain's flag is available in 4 different sizes.

Large Spanish flag

Any use of our flags on the web has to lead to a link to this page as the source

If the use is made in the context of a site generating income, or for the purpose of generating income, a DMCA statement (Digital Millennium Copyright Act) will be filed.

Flag of Spain