A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Morocco Flag

The explanation for the symbols of the Moroccan Flag

Morocco's flag was adopted in 1915. Entirely red at first, a green star with five points (a pentagram) is added at this date in the center. Under French protectorate since 1912, Morocco then seeks to differentiate the many red flags that are used around the world. This red flag is directly inherited from the Alaouite dynasty, who ruled over Morocco since 1659 and the disappearance of the last saadian ruler. The Alaouite dynasty, which still reigns today in the country, was established by Moulay Ali Cherif at the end of the seventeenth century. The green star contains many symbols related to its color and shape. Green is commonly relative to Islam and the country's hope for the future. The five branches refer to the five pillars of Islam : the pilgrimage to Mecca, faith, prayer, almsgiving and Ramadan. The green star is included in the shield of arms of Morocco.

National Moroccan Flag

You can download it in different sizes, in a decidedly modern design for your personal use, or for wider use. Morocco's flag is available in 4 different sizes.

Large Moroccan flag

Any use of our flags on the web has to lead to a link to this page as the source

If the use is made in the context of a site generating income, or for the purpose of generating income, a DMCA statement (Digital Millennium Copyright Act) will be filed.

Flag of Morocco