A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Macau Flag

The explanation for the symbols of the Macanese Flag

The flag of Macau is a white lotus flower, surmounted by five yellow five-pointed stars, all on a green background. The lotus flower is drawn over a bridge. Ancient Chinese province, Macau was leased to the portuguese for 400 years before being reassigned December 20, 1999. This is the last European colony to have been regiven after Hong Kong. Five stars shall refer to those on People's Republic of China’s one, the largest on the center clearly evoking the Chinese Communist Party. But even back under Chinese rule, Macau does not have the same laws and the same rules as China on its territory. Like Hong Kong, it is a Special Administrative Region, that is to say, a political subdivision of China, that does not have the same regulations, including economic. Portuguese flags have thus ceased to float in Macao November 19, 1999, replaced by the latter, who was chosen from over 1200 entries in a competition organized for the occasion, and designed by Xiao Hong, professor of drawing.

National Macanese Flag

You can download it in different sizes, in a decidedly modern design for your personal use, or for wider use. Macau's flag is available in 4 different sizes.

Large Macanese flag

Any use of our flags on the web has to lead to a link to this page as the source

If the use is made in the context of a site generating income, or for the purpose of generating income, a DMCA statement (Digital Millennium Copyright Act) will be filed.

Flag of Macau